**********TESTIMONIALS**********        

 

Romantic times @ Kate's!!!!                               

 

Good friends having great times @ Kate's!!!!

 

Stay at Kate's Place and create memories of your own ........... .............. . . . . . . . .  .  .  .  .  .   .   .  .   .   .   .    .    .

**********************************************

 

*****Great get away
The house is lovely and well kept. The owners were absolutely wonderful to work with. Kate's Place is within walking distance or a short drive to many great places in Gold County. Don't miss Diego's restaurant and the mine museum and tour. If you love Victorians this is the place for you. It has been decorated with an eye to the period and you will have a great time seeing all the things that make this a unique home.--------Guest: Colette C. (The Sea Ranch, CA)  Date of stay 12/26/13

 

 

*****We'll be back!
Our stay at Kate's Place could not have been more comfortable. The home is decorated beautifully. There was plenty of room for 6 adults and one teenager to gather for our family getaway. The owners have thought of so many small details throughout the house with the comfort of renters in mind. Owners were very approachable and accommodating to our needs. We were delighted with the the whole experience.--------Guest: Katie P. (Dublin, CA) Date of stay: 11/29/13Review

 

 

*****Quaint, homey and convenient to downtown.
We stayed at Kate's Place recently in October and we could not have been happier with the accommodations. The home retains all the Victorian charm but with modern amenities. All six of us (4 adults and 2 children) were very comfortable - living room is spacious and enough bedrooms for everyone to have a bed (with more to spare). The location couldn't be beat either. Walking distance to downtown as well as the local park/playground for the kids. Will definitely stay at Kate's place again if ever in the area.---------Guest: Angie,  (Menlo Park, CA)  Date of Stay: 10/11/13

 

 

*****Great Property, Great Location

My family and I spent a weekend at this house for a family reunion. The house is very cozy and the owners have really paid attention to detail to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. Everything you would need is already at the house - just bring yourself and clothes. And, the location couldn't be beat. We were able to walk right into the downtown area to shop and eat at many of the fine restaurants Grass Valley has to offer. We've stayed in many VRBO houses over the years and this is one of my faves!-------Guest: Angie, (Mariposa, CA)  Date of Stay: 10/4/13

 

 

*****A Wonderful Weekend Getaway

My two sons and their families joined us for our second visit to Kate's Place and we had a great time This lovely home has everything you could ask for, comfortable beds,a well-stocked kitchen, a lovely backyard and close enough to town for walking. There is many things to do in this area to keep everyone busy. We will be back for a third time next summer.--------Guest: Family Cav, (Fresno, CA)  Date of Stay: 7/25/13

 

 

*****Thoroughly Relaxing
Kate's Place is located in a quiet tree lined residential area within easy walking distance to the town of Grass Valley. The home, which sits on a quiet tree lined residential street, was the perfect place to relax and unwind. In the evenings, my friends of thirty years chatted and laughed while drinking hot chocolate in the large living room. The furnishings are a delightful mix of folk art and generated lots of amusement and discussion. There are also plenty of nooks to have quiet time for yourself. The well stocked kitchen and pantry also came in handy when one had the munchies. Do yourself a favor and stay here! We are looking forward to a return soon.--------Guest: Jana, (Burlingame, CA)  Date of Stay: 04/06/13

 

 

*****Worked Great fo Us
Our daughter was getting married in Grass Valley, so Kate's Place was our home base for our two other children and their spouses. It was a charming place full of antiques and life. We appreciated the air conditioning, the outdoor space and the fully functional kitchen. The location was convenient and the neighborhood was friendly and quiet.-----Guest: Steve, (Medford, OR)

Date of Stay: 07/10/13

 

 

*****Charming & Wonderful
This is a really delightful, clean, and quiet place to stay, filled with Victorian touches and just about any convenience you can name. The owner was very friendly and helpful in getting us settled. All of the beds are comfortable, and the backyard was perfect for our family and friends barbecues - cosy, private, plenty of space, easy access, and even a couple of different barbecues to choose from. It's an easy walk to the grocery store, coffee shop, or downtown. And if you forgot something, there are plenty of "honor bar" items available such as water, beer, wine, etc. The house is very close to Empire Mine State Park, and the Italian food at Cirino's Main Street is absolutely great. Highly recommended.-------Guest: A PIcky Couple, (Arcata, CA)   Date of Stay: 06/26/13

 

 

*****Kate's is my favorite place!!!!
The details and thoughtful touches in this amazing home were beyond expectations. Thank you so much for making our trip the very best!! We will return!!-------Guest: Lou and Les, (Harrison, MI)  Date of Stay: 06/04/13

 

 

*****Home away from Home for Christmas
We recently spent the Christmas and New Year's holidays at Kate's Place. What a WONDERFUL experience! Kate's Place is immaculately clean, perfectly charming, conveniently located, and equipped for a family to genuinely feel at home. I have never imagined spending Christmas day in a rental with my family, but Kate's Place was so cozy, lovely, and delightful - it felt like home! I would happily spend Christmas day - or any day - or every day there!

We have frequently traveled and stayed in places that were sold as having a "fully equipped kitchen." Kate's Place is the only vacation rental that lives up to that advertisement. The kitchen is generously equipped. I was able to cook and serve everything I would have in my own home.

I would HIGHLY recommend Kate's Place to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, clean, charming, and convenient vacation rental.-------Guest: Heidi, (La Grange, GA)   Date of Stay: 12/23/12

 

 

*****WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This home is WONDERFUL! We all enjoyed our stay it was amazing!! This home is very comfortable and with out a doubt we would stay again and recommend to others!!!!!!!!
The property is well maintained & exceptionally clean. You can tell the owner has gone the extra mile to make our stay exceptionally pleasant. I definitely would recomend this beautiful home for family, friends and a girls weekend. It is a very happy place to be. Many shops to enjoy & restaurants. Loved IT.......--------Guest: Chandler, D., (Clovis, CA)  Date of Stay: 09/14/12

 

 

*****Perfect Thanksgiving!
Review Submitted 11/28/12
Our family had a great stay over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The kitchen was fully stocked with so many nice amenities. The roaster oven came in handy as well as the Belgium Waffle iron. The living room is spacious and comfortable. The home was immaculate and charmingly decorated with beautiful antiques. The owners were very accommodating to our needs. We really enjoyed the view of fall colors from the kitchen windows. This is a very quiet and relaxing neighborhood. We toured Grass Valley and Nevada City. The Cornish Christmas Festival in Grass Valley was one of the highlights of our trip. It was the perfect Thanksgiving

vacation.-------Guest: John, (Roseville, CA)  Date of Stay: 11/17/12

 

*****Excellent vacation spot!!!
This charming place was thoroughly enjoyed by our group. It is immaculate, well located and near many points of interest. Great vacation spot!!!-------Guest: BJ, (Fresno, CA)   Date of Stay: 11/05/12

*****Grass Valley's Little Secret Gem!!
We were here for our daughter's wedding at Empire Mine. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Everything we needed was available at our fingertips. I felt like I was home. The house is decorated in Victorian/retro periods and is so comfortable!!! The bbq in the backyard was very welcoming as we used it several times during our stay. The ice cream maker makes wonderful desserts also. We had several family members stay with us from out of town and everyone was very comfortable with the accommodations.

I can't say enough about the owners, Rich and Earlene. They made our stay so welcoming. The communication was excellent

on everything from the deposit to the departure. If anything was needed during our stay, they were just a phone call away. If

anyone was to ask me where to stay in Grass Valley, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kate's Place to them. I have stayed at

several hotels and NOTHING beats staying at Kate's Place. Our experience was more than any words can say. Thank you doesn't begin to cover how much happiness and fun we we had.

Thank you Rich and Earlene for allowing us to enjoy your home for our daughter's wedding. We will be coming back to Grass Valley in the future and we will be reserving your home again.---------Guest: Sharon (Burbank, CA) Date of Stay: 06/25/12

 

*****Seniors from Long Beach, CA
What a wonderful week in your Victorian home. Everything was so beautiful and so comfortable, we truly felt at home. You have thoughtfully provided your guest with all the amenities necessary for a wonderful stay. We truly enjoyed our vacation in Kate's place. Loved sitting on the front porch in the evening and reading, and visiting your friendly neighbors. Everything was very clean, and well stocked. It was so quiet, naps were easily in order. Loved the decor, Earlene did a beautiful job. Owners are available if needed, and very kind and wonderful to work with on reservations and any questions. We highly recommend Kate's place.----------------Guest: Tom & Ina (Long Beach, CA) Date of Stay: 06/12/12

 

*****Perfect Choice for Girls Get-Away
Five of us enjoyed our stay at Kate's place while participating in a mosaic class in Grass Valley. We oohed and aahed our whole time there! You would not believe how cute and charming everything was, with treasures everywhere! I could have spent the whole week-end on the porch swing. Everything we could need was at our fingertips! Even a vanity in every room so no fighting over the bathrooms, though we had three to choose from. Since we were taking a break from cooking, we were pleased to find wonderful restaurants within walking distance (Diego's was a favorite - check out the mosaics!) We learned a lot about local history, one of us had a special interest in Chinese miners and found some rare photos. We can't wait for a return visit - maybe during the winter next time!--------------Guest: Cindy (Sacramento,CA) Date of Stay: 06/08/12

 

*****All I can say is AWESOME!

My husband and I have stayed at Kates Place several times. The home is absolutely charming, comfortable and in a quiet neighborhood. It is so much fun to celebrate, with family and friends, outside in the back patio area. The roses are lovely! In the morning we enjoy drinking our coffee on the front porch. Thank you Kates Place for so many special memories! We hope to be back soon! --------------- Guest: Andrea39 (Fresno, CA)Date of Stay: 10/21/11


*****Wonderful weekend!!

We want to thank you for a wonderful stay at your charming home! Everything was just as you described it and we felt right at home. Your thoughtful anticipation of all our needs was most appreciated. It's obvious that you have tried to think of "the little things that matter", and you've succeeded. Just the right mix of old world charm and modern conveniences. Delightful!----------------------Guest: Harley buddys (Reedley, Ca 93654), Date of Stay: 10/21/11

 

***** "Kate's Place"- a wonderful vacation home to enjoy in the foothills of California

My husband and I and another couple wanted to attend the annual home tour in Grass Valley/Nevada City. I reviewed vacations homes online and found "Kate's Place", it sounded like a home we would want to stay in. We were not disappointed. "Kate's Place" has everything you need to feel at home. The kitchen is fully equipped. The beds were so comfortable we slept like we were at home. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we had a hard time leaving "Kate's Place" in the evening. We played cards in the breakfast nook off the kitchen and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The front porch swing kept luring me into sitting and relaxing. The location couldn't be better. Close to a grocery store, shopping and restaurants! The home is in a quiet neighborhood and that was an extra bonus. No traffic to disturb you. We enjoyed the hypnotic fires in the backyard fire pit and the grounds are very nice especially the roses! Rich and Earlene (owners of "Kate's Place") made us feel like family. Rich was great answering questions that I kept coming up with. Thank you Rich and Earlene for sharing your Victorian home! I would recommend this vacation home to family and friends.--------- Guest: Tahoe gal (Stateline, Nevada), Date of Stay: 09/30/11

 

*****Kate's Place is a Jewel in Grass Valley

Hi Rich and Earlene, Just a note to say how much we enjoyed Kate's place. We oohed and aahed the whole time we were there. The roses and garden features in the front walk, your sense of detail in each room of the house and the intimate space you created in the back yard, yet with room for several people created a place of comfort and entertainment. Our Rhythmic Movement workshop in Nevada City with Moira Dempsey from Australia was a delight and was made even better knowing we would be returning to such a wonderful residence in the evening. The details you added are so much fun. We were constantly discovering something else to look at or interact with. It felt like we came to tea at a very special house and turned it into a sleep over. I relaxed for an hour on the porch swing Friday night, while everyone was shopping. The weather was perfect, the moon was almost full and it was magical. I very much appreciated the beautifully tiled bathrooms and how solid and roomy the house feels. You managed to incorporate enough modern elements to make the house feel comfortable and still retain the atmosphere of the era in which it was built. I had a great nights sleep in the downstairs bedroom with the two twin beds. It was so quiet, even when sharing it with another person in our group. All six of us lingered at dinner in the dinning room each evening. The atmosphere with candle light was perfect. After dinner we easily loaded the dishwasher and continued our conversation in the living room. It was relaxing, lovely and a retreat, thank you! We look forward to our next visit to Kate's Place.---------- Leslie Goff, Redding, CA,

Date of Stay: 10/14/11

 

*****Kate's Paradise

My wife and friends have enjoyed staying at this meticulously period furbished home 2 times now. Without a doubt the beds are the most comfortable we have slept in! We also enjoy the patio and garden in the back. There is a great BBQ set up easy to use for that home cooked meal, the local independant S&P Market has a butcher counter where you can get top quality cuts of meat also! We are looking forward to going back again during the winter holiday season! Oh it is pet friendly also. Thank you Rich and Earlene. ----------- Guest: Lucky (Santa Monica/CA), Date of Stay: 08/12/11

 

*****Love this place!!

I am 11 years old and I love this place. You know I would even give up marrying Justin Bieber to live here. When I stayed here me and my sister shared the twin bed room. I loved everything about the house. We stayed there because my dad was getting married in Grass Valley where Kate his new wife grew up. It was super clean when we got there. I love sitting on the front porch on the couch swing with a soda chit chatting with my Grandma. I would definitely stay here again. I love the location the house and most of all spending quality time with my family. If you are ever in Grass Valley i recommend you stay here because it is super fun and the stuff is very pretty and nice. Also the back yard it beautiful. If I could I would live there forever. Whoever stays here will love it. Also the second I walked through the door I fell in love with the place. I just want to say thank you for letting us stay here, and for who ever stays here you will enjoy it!!-----------Guest: Allie (Oregon), Date of Stay: 07/07/11

 

*****Very special experience
Our family had the most amazing experience! Our mother, Carole was born and raised in Grass Valley. After a long and beautiful life she passed away this February. We children found out through old letters that her childhood home was - amazingly enough - Kate's Place. When we contacted the owners and told them that we would be coming to Grass Valley to bury our mother, they generously offered the home for us to use for her memorial service. Words cannot describe how grateful we are for this special experience and for their kindness and support. The home is beautifully refurbished, and the yard is so beautiful. We brought some photos of Momma on the front porch from the 40's. It was fun to see that the front door is the same! We hope to return sometime and spend a week together to reminisce and enjoy the mountain home our mother loved so much. Thank you so much for making a difficult time so special.and for helping us to truly honor our mother.---------Carole's Kids (Sequim, WA), March, 2011

 

*****Christmas at Kate's Place
Our family had a wonderful time at Kate's for ten days during Christmas. Even though it rained every day but Christmas day,(very unusual) we felt warm and cozy in this beautifully decorated home, which had lovely Christmas decorations waiting for us. We even had Christmas lights outside. Everyone slept well in comfortable beds, each with a warm comforter. We were able to get out and walk a few times when the rain went to a drizzle, but the rest of the time we just played games, conversed, watched a few dvd's and ate and ate. Empire State Park is only a block and a half away, and downtown Grass Valley is an easy walk. We would definitely recommend this home to our friends, and we look forward to returning to Kate's Place in the near future.--------Barbara-- Prescott, Arizona, Review Submitted: January 1, 2011 Date of Stay: December 2010

 

*****My two sons and their families met my husband and myself at Kate's Place in August and everyone had a great stay. The home is absolutely gorgeous and my daughter-in-law could not stop taking pictures. The town is delighful with shops and many great restaurants. We would love to vacation there again, maybe next summer we could make it an annual trip.------------Family Cav, Fresno, CA--------8/5-12/10

 

*****The house is totally charming, but our favorites are the swing on the front porch and the back yard. We spent a lot of time in both. While attending the car show, we looked forward to a relaxing evening at Kate's Place. It was so homey, it felt like we had been here before. We would highly recommend Kate's Place.-------Vince & Bea, Brentwood, CA----9/10/10

 

*****We selected Kate's Place because of its close location to Empire Mine where our son was getting married. The home is absolutely lovely. It's furnishings and decor are so warm and inviting. The home is clean and extremely well maintained. Our family used the home to get ready for the wedding, and to relax and celebrate afterwards. The cost is a bargain, and beats the price of some of the nearby hotels. The owners are terrific, very personable and answered all our questions. They offered information on the local businesses and restaurants. I would highly recommend staying here.------------Cyndi, Sacramento, CA--------6/24/10

 

*****We had a great time staying at Kate's place. Its decorations were delightful and made it feel very unlike a typical, bland rental property. We managed to comfortably sleep 10 (we were a large group in town for a wedding). I also appreciated having drinks, wine, and soups available in the house for very reasonable prices.------Brett, San Francisco, --------7/23-25/10

 

*****"What else is there to add to all the other wonderful reviews? I think they say it all. Our weekend in June with 2 other couples, (friends since 1975) thoughly enjoyed our stay at Kate's place. Our dinners on the patio with the roses blooming, the fountain running, and the pretty dishes made everything special.The home is like taking a step back in time, and is decorated immaculately for the Victorian period.The location is also perfect for exploring the historic towns in the area. We hope to stay again in the near future. Thank you Richard and Earlene for sharing this beautiful home."----The Roberts', Napa, CA---------6/18-20/10

 

*****In person Kate's Place is even nicer than the photos. It is the most charming, well appointed and fully stocked home I have ever rented. Dining in the garden has the ambiance of a secluded restaurant that would surely become your favorite place to return to. There is not one thing the owners have not thought about. They obviously take great pride in this lovely home and it shows from the moment you enter the garden gate. I cannot wait to return!

----Sandra, Pilot Hill, CA---------6/11-13/10

 

*****i just read all 14 of the comments below and can't agree more. This is the best find $ for $ that I have come across in years. The home matches the historical atmosphere of the community and really feels like your own from the moment you drive up and walk through the door until you leave. Charming, charming, charming! Loved the kitchen and all the vintage appointments! Thank you Richard and Earlene. ----Kim, Chatsworth, CA-------1/7-11/10

 

***** My family and I spent Christmas week at Kate's Place, and we had a truly special holiday. The house and all its furnishings created a warm, homey atmosphere that captured the magic of the season. Thank you so much, Rich and Earlene, for making us feel so welcome.

----April Baxter, Lakewood, CA-------12/23-12/28/09

 

***** I am hesitant to write a true review because I am afraid if people find out how wonderful this house really is there will be no availability for me!!! We had the most amazing time in this beautiful home…Every detail was picture perfect! It felt like we were truly stepping back in time… with all the wonderful conveniences of today. The owners of this home thought of everything including decadent shampoos and conditioners for their guests. We cannot wait to return.

----Sherie, Vacaville, CA----9/4-7/09

 

*****I am still smiling as I remember our stay at Kates Place. We began each day with a walk for coffee and treats and ended our days by walking to many wonderful resturants for dinner, glad to walk off the calories afterwards. Especially appreciated was the fridge stocked with cold beer and the wine cabinet, saving us a trip to the store after the long trip to get there. The kitchen is the best stocked of any we have seen and we used the fabulous waffle iron ( I am asking for one for Christmas) to make many bedtime treats. Thanks - Kates Place - for a special family vacation .

----Cheryl Hofhusen, Shady Cove, Oregon----8/23-30/09

 

*****We stayed at Kate's Place last weekend while attending a wedding in Grass Valley. We usually stay at vacation rentals when we travel and this one is a five star. The beds were very comfortable and the house was well equipped and beautifully decorated. We walked out the front door every morning and hiked the trails at Empire Mine State Park. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

----Richard & Louise, Santa Barbara, CA----7/10-12/09

 

*****HI Richard, I wanted to give you an update on our visit to Kate's Place.  We all enjoyed the lovely house and found that it was a good fit for our group.  Things worked well and it was a very convenient location.  We enjoyed walking to dinner & to shop in town on several occasions.  Everything worked well; including the waffle maker, water heater, restrooms...  Since our reason for the visit was an annual Father's Day "ammo" sale at a local ammunition dealer, we are already talking about a return trip next year and will keep you in mind for accommodations. Thank you so much for accommodating us at the last minute.  It worked out so very well. My husband and son got to know a neighbor across the street and about 2 houses towards Race - very nice lady who needed help with her sprinklers - very nice neighborhood--------Have a great day, Laurie, San Diego County----6/19&20/09

 

*****What a lovely & beautifully decorated home. We had a wonderful time. Cooked almost all our meals in the great kitchen & covered BBQ area, right off of the kitchen. It was raining & snowing much of the time & although the snow was beautiful we weren't able to take a planned walk downtown which would have been lovely but other than that it was a perfect weekend for all of us, 4 couples. Very comfortable.

----David Glover, Fresno, CA---2/5-9/09

 

*****Very Impressed!!! Very comfortable and homey. Felt like a home away from home.

----Thank you, Aldo Plaza, Fresno, CA---2/5-9/09

 

*****This is beautifully decorated, with many amenities. We spent Christmas here with our 3 children and grandchildren and it was perfect. Very nice to have a big living space on the first floor and separate bdrms on the bottom. Owners were very willing to try to make our stay perfect. Even decorated for Christmas for us! The Rummikub was a big hit also!!!!

----Nancy & Paul, 12/24&25/08

 

*****Had an amazing weekend at Kate's Place. A perfect retreat for total relaxation! The amenities were wonderful, with all the comforts of home. All the charm I would hope to find when visiting this beautiful area. Coffee out on the patio, among the spectacular garden is the perfect way to start the day. I can't wait to visit again and bring more friends.

----Kirsten Rose Crim, Eden Valley, CA---9/20-22/08.

 

*****What a wonderful place! You are to be congratulated for doing such a fine job and with such delicate care to detail. We only spent one night but could live here forever.

----Lee & Annelies Hayes, Grass Valley, CA---9/14/08

 

*****We came to Grass Valley for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kate's Place. Seven of us, three couples and an infant, slept comfortably and enjoyed all the amenities provided. Thank you for such incredible hospitality and your attention to every detail. We would highly recommend Kate's Place to anyone visiting Grass Valley and would love to return someday.

----Matt, Marisa & Sophie, Tucson, AZ, --Rebecca & Andrew, La Jolla, CA. --Maya & Josh, San Francisco, CA---8/29&30/08

 

*****We, 9 of us, came here to escape the smokey skies at Worldfest. Fabulous house, we couldn't look around the house without seeing something new. Love the kerchief valance in the kitchen & the back patio. It was a decadent place to come to for a peaceful nights' sleep. Everyone commented on the comfortable beds. Thank you for your hospitality & accomodating all 9 of us at the last minute!!!

----Donna & Alan, Magalia, CA---7/16-19/08

 

*****This was a comfortable retreat with all of the amenities we needed to relax and enjoy the weekend. The beds are very comfortable. We were very rested each morning, and hope to return for future adventures in GV.

----Mark & Becky, Paradise, CA---7/16-19/08

 

*****Our family enjoyed your hospitality. We had a great family reunion & 70th birthday celebration. The decor brought back memories of gone-by days. "Never knew what time it was until the clock struck nine". Thank you so much.

----Randy & Susanna, Pacifica, CA, --Ted, Fred & Sue, Colorado---6/21&22/08